[plt-scheme] ICFP08 Call for Participation

From: Matthew Fluet (ICFP Publicity Chair) (icfp.publicity at googlemail.com)
Date: Mon Aug 4 17:43:20 EDT 2008

                        Call for Participation

            The 13th ACM SIGPLAN International Conference
                on Functional Programming (ICFP 2008)


              Victoria, BC, Canada, 22-24 September 2008

ICFP 2008 provides a forum for researchers and developers to hear
about the latest work on the design, implementations, principles, and
uses of functional programming. The conference covers the entire
spectrum of work, from practice to theory, including its peripheries.

Preliminary program:
 * http://www.icfpconference.org/icfp2008/schedule.html
 * Invited speakers:
   + Butler Lampson, Microsoft Research;
     Lazy and Speculative Execution in Computer Systems
   + Olivier Danvy, University of Aarhus;
     Defunctionalized Interpreters for Higher-Order Languages
   + Mark Jones, Portland State University;
     Polymorphism and Page Tables -- Systems Programming From a
     Functional Programmer's Perspective

Schedule including related workshops:
 * Sep 20: ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on Generic Programming
 * Sep 20: ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on Mechanizing Metatheory
 * Sep 20: ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on Scheme and Functional Programming
 * Sep 21: ACM SIGPLAN Workshop on ML
 * Sep 21: ACM SIGPLAN Functional and Declarative Programming in Education
 * Sep 22-24: ICFP08
 * Sep 25: ACM SIGPLAN Haskell Symposium
 * Sep 25: Functional Programming Developer Tracks
 * Sep 26: Commercial Users of Functional Programming
 * Sep 27: ACM SIGPLAN Erlang Workshop
 * Sep 27: Functional Programming Developer Tracks

Registration information:
 * http://www.regmaster.com/conf/icfp2008.html
 * Early registration deadline: August 20, 2008

Conference hotel accommodation information:
 * http://www.deltahotels.com/groups/online/VIC/acm.php
 * Conference rate deadline: August 18, 2008
 * Wiki page to coordinate room-sharing:

Conference organizers:
 * General Chair: James Hook (Portland State University)
 * Program Chair: Peter Thiemann (Universität Freiburg)
 * Local Arrangements Chair: George Tzanetakis (University of Victoria)
 * Workshop Co-Chairs: Michael Sperber (DeinProgramm)
   and Graham Hutton (University of Nottingham)
 * Programming Contest Co-Chairs: John Reppy (University of Chicago)
   and Tim Sheard (Portland State University)
 * Publicity Chair: Matthew Fluet (Toyota Technological Institute at Chicago)

Posted on the users mailing list.