[plt-scheme] Migration of planet packages across PLT upgrades

From: Robby Findler (robby at eecs.northwestern.edu)
Date: Fri Nov 27 13:52:13 EST 2009

As it turns out, they are not re-downloaded, but they are re-complied.
The separate directories are there because the compiled-file format is
different in each version, so those symlinks won't work.

You can delete the old directories if you don't want to use those
versions anymore.


On Fri, Nov 27, 2009 at 4:27 AM, Rommel M. Martinez <ebzzry at gmail.com> wrote:
> Is there a recommended way of "migrating" packages that have been
> downloaded, i.e., PLaneT packages across PLT upgrades? Since I'm using
> the default configuration, I find myself constantly having to
> re-download all the packages that I need when I upgrade. My
> ~/.plt-scheme/planet/300/ has a multitude of directories.
> Is there a migration system out there that can be suggested? Should I
> setup symlinks prior to downloading PLaneT packages, e.g., 4.X.Y.Z =>
> actual_directory/? Has this been discussed before?
> --
> Rommel M. Martinez
> http://www.bespin.org/~ebzzry
> _________________________________________________
>  For list-related administrative tasks:
>  http://list.cs.brown.edu/mailman/listinfo/plt-scheme

Posted on the users mailing list.