[plt-scheme] DLS 2009

From: Robby Findler (robby at eecs.northwestern.edu)
Date: Fri Mar 20 07:18:12 EDT 2009

Dynamic Languages Symposium 2009

Co-located with OOPSLA 2009 (October 25-29)
Sponsored by ACM SIGPLAN
Disney's Contemporary Resort, Orlando, Florida


***** Call for papers *****

The 5th Dynamic Languages Symposium (DLS) at OOPSLA 2009 is a forum
for discussion of dynamic languages, their implementation and
application. While mature dynamic languages including Smalltalk, Lisp,
Scheme, Self, Prolog, and APL continue to grow and inspire new
converts, a new generation of dynamic scripting languages such as
Python, Ruby, PHP, Tcl, and JavaScript are successful in a wide range
of applications. DLS provides a place for researchers and
practitioners to come together and share their knowledge, experience,
and ideas for future research and development.

DLS 2009 invites high quality papers reporting original research,
innovative contributions or experience related to dynamic languages,
their implementation and application. Accepted Papers will be
published in the ACM Digital Library.

Areas of interest include but are not limited to:

* Innovative language features and implementation techniques
* Development and platform support, tools
* Interesting applications
* Domain-oriented programming
* Very late binding, dynamic composition, and runtime adaptation
* Reflection and meta-programming
* Software evolution
* Language symbiosis and multi-paradigm languages
* Dynamic optimization
* Hardware support
* Experience reports and case studies
* Educational approaches and perspectives
* Object-oriented, aspect-oriented, and context-oriented programming

=== Submissions and proceedings ===

We invite original contributions that neither have been published
previously nor are under review by other refereed events or
publications. Research papers should describe work that advances the
current state of the art. Experience papers should be of broad
interest and should describe insights gained from substantive
practical applications. The program committee will evaluate each
contributed paper based on its relevance, significance, clarity, and

Accepted papers will be published in the ACM Digital Library.

Papers are to be submitted electronically at
http://www.easychair.org/conferences?conf=dls2009 in PDF format.
Submissions must not exceed 12 pages and need to use the ACM format,
templates for which can be found at

=== Important dates ===

Submission of papers: June 1, 2009 (hard deadline)
Author notification: July 13, 2009
Final versions due: August 4, 2009
OOPSLA 2009: October 25-29

=== Program chair ===

James Noble, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand
kjx at mcs.vuw.ac.nz

=== Program committee ===

Davide Ancona, Università di Genova, Italy
Elisa Baniassad, The Chinese University of Hong Kong
Gilad Bracha, USA
Susan Eisenbach, Imperial College London, UK
Marc Feeley, University of Montreal, Canada
Robby Findler, University of Chicago, USA
Martin von Löwis, Hasso-Plattner-Institut, Germany
Wolfgang De Meuter, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium
Michael Richmond, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA
Robert Strandh, Université Bordeaux 1, France
Antero Taivalsaari, Sun Microsystems Laboratories, Finland
Carolyn L. Talcott, SRI International, USA
Glenn Vanderburg, USA
Tobias Wrigstad, Purdue University, USA

Posted on the users mailing list.